Chemical Department

Research and development areas within the Chemical Department of the Leibniz Institute of Surface Modification are focused towards “fundamental interactions of electrons and photons at surfaces and interfaces” and “functional control at complex surfaces and thin films”.

In this regard, complex surfaces include functional layers as well as functional nano- and micro structured systems (concave, convex) on surfaces. These are deposited, modified and characterized by using ion beam- and photonic technologies as well as plasmas.

The aim of all research areas is to carry out excellent basic research and to develop technologies for the rapid transfer into an industrial environment. The chemical department cooperates with regional, national as well as international research institutes, universities, and companies.

The research- and technology- areas of the chemical department are interdisciplinary and strongly interlinked among each other.

Research and Development Foci of the Chemical Department

Key elements of this research and development topic are mechanisms and timescales of fast elemental reactions and their competitive channels as well as short-lived reactive transients after excitation by high energy photons and electrons.
Because of its advanced equipment (electron accelerator, E(x) UV-fs-source) and its special competence, the research group is a strong cooperation partner in scientific networks. Additionally, the optical and photonic technologies are employed in in-line process control at the industrial scale. For this, the group offers many key technologies and major analytical equipment for highly specialized investigations.

The research and development topic functional surfaces is focused on the development of nanocomposites as well as on the development of cross-linked polymer layers modified by ion beams and photons with exceptional mechanical, thermal or barrier/membrane properties. This makes them highly functional as well as environmentally sustainable: perfect as technical solutions for our partners in the industry. Here, traditional technologies are further optimized.
A new topic of research is the preparation of nano layer systems via atomic layer deposition as well as the preparation of layers on surfaces whose functions can be controlled (e.g. with light).

The development of new biofunctional surfaces for bioanalytics as well as the preparation of technologies for modification of membranes, which can lead to the fabrication of new and unique products, is the centre of this research and development focus. We aim for instance at the fabrication of porous polymer systems as well as hybrid, biocompatible and bioactive nano materials. The development of micro- and nanostructured systems and hybrid systems on surfaces for energy conversion – for example in fuel cells – is a new addition to our research and development focus.

Chemische Abteilung

Chemische Abteilung

Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkte der Chemischen Abteilung des IOM sind auf die zentralen Themen „Fundamentale Wechselwirkungen von Elektronen und Photonen an Grenz- und Oberflächen“ und „Funktionskontrolle an komplexen Oberflächen und dünnen Filmen“ ausgerichtet.

Komplexe Oberflächen umfassen dabei sowohl funktionale Schichten als auch funktionale nano- und mikrostrukturierte Systeme an Oberflächen (konkav, konvex). Diese werden vorwiegend mit Elektronenstrahl- und photonischen Technologien und Plasmen aufgebaut, modifiziert und charakterisiert.

Exzellente Grundlagenforschung und der zeitnahe Technologietransfer in die Industrie spielen dabei eine wesentliche Rolle. Kooperationspartner in F&E sind regionale, nationale und internationale Forschungsinstitute, Universitäten und Firmen.  
Die Forschungs- und Technologiebereiche der Chemischen Abteilung sind interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und stark untereinander vernetzt.

Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkte der Chemischen Abteilung:

Elektronenstrahl- und Photonische Technologien

Die Mechanismen und Zeitskalen schneller Elementarreaktionen und ihrer Konkurrenzkanäle sowie kurzlebiger reaktiver Transienten nach Anregung durch hochenergetische Photonen und Elektronen sind Gegenstand der Arbeiten in diesem F&E-Schwerpunkt. Aufgrund der apparativen Ausstattung (Elektronenbeschleuniger, E(X)UV-fs-Quelle) und der speziellen Kompetenz, ist die Arbeitsgruppe in viele nationale und internationale Kooperationen eingebunden. Optische und photonische Technologien werden im F&E-Schwerpunkt auch für die in-line-Prozesskontrolle in industriellen Prozessen eingesetzt und optimiert.

Der Schwerpunkt hält viele wichtige Techniken und Großgeräte der Analytik für hochspezialisierte Fragestellungen vor.

Im Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkt Funktionale Schichten werden einerseits Nanokomposite und andererseits strahlen- und photonenmodifizierte und vernetzte Polymerschichten mit außergewöhnlichen mechanischen, thermischen oder Barriere- eigenschaften verbesserter Funktionalität und erhöhter Umweltverträglichkeit als umfassende technische Lösungen mit Industriepartnern entwickelt. Dabei werden auch traditionelle Technologien weiter optimiert und perfektioniert.
Ein neues Forschungsthema ist der Aufbau von Nano-Schichtsystemen mittels „Atomic Layer Deposition“ und der Aufbau von Schichten an Oberflächen, deren Funktionen (etwa mit Licht) kontrolliert werden können.

In diesem Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkt werden neue biofunktionale Oberflächen für die Bioanalytik entwickelt und Technologien für die Modifizierungen von Polymermembranen erarbeitet, die zu neuen und einzigartigen Produkten führen können. Ziele sind u.a. die Herstellung von porösen Polymersystemen und die Herstellung hybrider, biokompatibler und bioaktiver Nanomaterialien. Neu in die Arbeiten des F&E-Schwerpunktes integriert ist die Entwicklung von mikro- und nanostrukturierten Systemen und Hybridsystemen an Oberflächen für die Energiekonversion – etwa in Brennstoffzellen. Ein übergeordnetes Thema sind in allen Bereichen modifizierte und dotierte Kohlenstoffmaterialien im Nanometerbereich für vielfältige Anwendungen.