Physical Department

Research and development of the physical department of the IOM Leipzig focus on the fabrication and modification of surfaces and thin films of various materials. The techniques used are ion- and laser beam- as well as plasma-based. The aim is to create surfaces and thin films that are useful in specialized applications. Apart from the required setups for the modification of materials, employees of the IOM can also resort to a vast number of appliances for the analysis of structure, topography and composition as well as the determination of mechanical, optical or electrical properties of surfaces and thin films.  

Apart from working on topics in the field of basic research the employees are also involved in various projects of technology and development transfer, especially to companies from optical industries, microelectronics and mechanical engineering.
 

Research and Development Foci of the Physical Department:

This research and development focus encompasses the development of technologies for ion beam- and plasma based smoothing and shaping (or correction) of flat, curved or free formed surfaces with a tolerance spectrum of an only few nanometres. These technologies are further qualified for use in the industry. Apart from these application-oriented projects, basic research in the field of fabrication of nano structures by ion beam induced self-organisation is carried out.

For this scientific approach the development of novel equipment is necessary, for example of ion sources which can also be used as electrical engines for space crafts.

Pivotal for our research projects are the gentle, precise and selective structuring of surfaces, interfaces and thin films by laser radiation.  In combination with the development of in-situ analysis methods as well as models for optimizing parameters, we guarantee a reliable procedure for the fabrication of different materials.

The research of the LenA-centre focuses on the structural analysis of interfaces and thin films using HR transmission electron microscopy and electron spectroscopy. By combining different approaches it is possible to determine correlations between the structure and properties of materials up to the resolution of one atom.

This research and development focus is characterized by the use of specialized methods for the fabrication of thin crystalline layers. These are molecular beam epitaxy, pulsed laser deposition as well as general methods for the fabrication of nano structures such as glancing angle deposition (GLAD).
Added are methods like ion implantation and plasma immersion ion implantation for the modification of areas in surface proximity. These methods of synthesis are used for basic investigations on materials as precursor for use in sensor-, medical- and optical technologies as well as photovoltaics and thermos-electronics.

Physikalische Abteilung

Physikalische Abteilung

Die Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten in der Physikalischen Abteilung des IOM Leipzig sind auf die Herstellung und die Modifizierung von Oberflächen und dünnen Schichten unterschiedlichster Materialien gerichtet, bevorzugt mittels Ionen- und Laserstrahl- bzw. Plasmaverfahren. Das Ziel dabei ist, diese Oberflächen und Schichten so zu gestalten, dass sie spezifischen Applikationen gerecht werden können. Neben entsprechenden Anlagen zur Modifizierung steht den Mitarbeitern des IOM auch ein umfangreicher Gerätepark für Untersuchungen zur Struktur, Topographie und Zusammensetzung sowie zur Bestimmung der mechanischen, optischen und elektrischen Eigenschaften zur Verfügung.

Neben der Bearbeitung von Fragenstellungen aus der Grundlagenforschung sind die Mitarbeiter der Abteilung an zahlreichen Technologieentwicklungs- und Transferprojekten beteiligt, insbesondere mit Firmen aus der optischen Industrie, der Mikroelektronik und des Maschinenbaus.

Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkte der Physikalischen Abteilung:

Ultrapräzisionsbearbeitung

In diesem Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkt werden einerseits Bearbeitungstechnologien zur ionenstrahl- und plasmagestützten Glättung und Formgebung (-korrektur) von ebenen, gekrümmten aber auch Freiformflächen im Toleranzbereich von wenigen Nanometern entwickelt und hinsichtlich einer industriellen Nutzung qualifiziert. Neben diesen anwendungs-orientierten Arbeiten werden Grundlagenuntersuchungen zur Herstellung von Nanostrukturen durch ionenstrahlinduzierte Selbstorganisation durchgeführt.

Für diese wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten sind gerätetechnische Voraussetzungen notwendig, die u.a. die Entwicklung von Ionenquellen erfordern, die beispielsweise auch als elektrische Triebwerke in der Raumfahrt eingesetzt werden können.

Strukturierung und physikalische Analytik

Die schädigungsarme, präzise und selektive Laserstrukturierung von Oberflächen, Grenzflächen und dünnen Schichten in Verbindung mit der Entwicklung von in-situ Messverfahren und Modelle zur Parameteroptimierung und Erhöhung der Verfahrenszuverlässigkeit für unterschiedlichste Materialien stehen im Mittelpunkt der Forschungsarbeiten.

Die wissenschaftliche Forschung des LenA-Zentrums ist auf die Strukturanalyse von Grenzflächen und dünnen Schichten mittels hochauflösender Transmissionselektronenmikroskopie und Elektronenspektroskopie fokussiert. Die Bestimmung der Zusammenhänge zwischen Materialstruktur und Materialeigenschaften auf mikroskopischen Längenskalen bis hinunter in den Bereich atomarer Auflösung wird durch die Kombination verschiedener Verfahren erreicht.

Schichtabscheidung und Nanostrukturen

Dieser Forschungs- und Entwicklungsschwerpunkt ist durch spezifische Verfahren zur Herstellung von dünnen, kristallinen Schichten, wie die Molekularstrahlepitaxie (teilweise ionenstrahl-unterstützt) und die Pulslaserablation sowie Verfahren zur Generation von Nanostrukturen, wie die Glanzwinkeldeposition (GLAD), charakterisiert. Hinzu kommen die Verfahren der Plasmaimmer-sions- und der Ionenimplantation zur gezielten Modifizierung oberflächennaher Bereiche. Diese Syntheseverfahren werden für grundlegende Untersuchungen genutzt, im Vorfeld der Etablierung dieser Materialien im Bereich Sensorik, Medizintechnik, Optik, Photovoltaik und Thermoelektrik.