The 2018 Kurt Schwabe Award goes to Dr. Agnes Schulze from Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering (IOM)

Since 1983 the Saxon Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Leipzig (SAW) presents the Kurt Schwabe Award to honor excellent scientific or technological achievements as well as high personal contributions to the preservation of nature and natural resources. The bestowal of the science award for chemistry, took place during the Academy’s public Spring Meeting, held on the 13th of April, 2018, in the Old City Hall to Leipzig.

Dr. Agnes Schulze received this renowned award this year for her exceptional contributions to the development of “Self-cleaning membrane filter for environmentally friendly application in water treatment”. 

The working group “Functional Membranes and Porous Materials” led by Dr. Schulze researches in the field of membrane modification and develops process technologies for the functionalization of polymer surfaces using low energy electron beams. The focus is on polymeric membrane filters for use in water treatment.