Staff Page

Prof. Dr. André Anders

Director of the Institute and CEO /
Head of the Department Precision Surfaces

Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering (IOM)
Permoserstr. 15 / 04318 / Leipzig / Germany 

Phone: +49 (0)341 235 - 2308
Fax: +49 (0)341 235 - 2313


Fields of Expertise

  • Plasma-based deposition of thin films and nanostructures
  • Plasma and ion sources
  • Plasma diagnostics
  • Metal plasmas generated by Arc and HiPIMS technologies
  • Oxides, nitrides, diamondlike carbon films, elektroic / thermochromic systems

Scientific Career

André Anders has a joint appointment as the Director and CEO (Direktor und Vorstand) of the Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering, Leipzig, Germany, and Professor of Applied Physics at the Felix Bloch Institute of Solid State Physics, Leipzig University. He assumed these positions in September of 2017 after working as Staff Scientist and later Senior Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, CA, USA, since 1992. He studies physics in Wroclaw, Poland, Berlin, (East) Germany, and Moscow (Russia, then Soviet Union), to obtain his PhD degree (Dr. rer. nat.) from Humboldt University in Berlin. Dr. Anders has worked for over 30 years in basic and applied plasma physics and material science. Before assuming his current positions in Leipzig, he became experienced in managing projects as group leader and principal investigator in Berkeley, developing disruptive plasma and materials technologies, advising students, and teaching courses. He is engaged in the scientific and technical communities as officer of several conference committees and advisory boards. He is the author of three books and over 300 peer-reviewed journal papers in physics and material science (h-index 67, close to 17,000 citations, Google Scholar 2020). Decision maker as Associated Editor and since 2014 Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Applied Physics for the American Institute of Physics Publishing, Melville, NY. Internationally recognized by awards and election to Fellow of several professional societies. 

Selected Publications

  • A. Anders,
    Cathodic Arcs: From Fractal Spots to Energetic Condensation,
    New York: Springer, 2008. Link
  • A. Anders, Ed.,
    Handbook of Plasma Immersion Ion Implantation and Deposition,
    New York: Wiley, 2000. Link
  • A. Anders,
    A Formulary For Plasma Physics,
    Berlin: Akademie-Verlag, 1990. Link
  • A. Anders, Y. Yang,
    Plasma studies of a linear magnetron operating in the range from DC to HiPIMS,
    J. Appl. Phys. 123, 043302 (2018). DOI:10.1063/1.5017857
  • A. Anders,
    High-Power Impulse Magnetron Sputtering (HiPIMS),
    in Encyclopedia of Plasma Technology, edited by J. L. Shohet (CRC Press, 2017), pp. 588-602. Link
  • A. Anders,
    Vacuum arc cathode spots,
    in Encyclopedia of Plasma Technology, edited by J. L. Shohet (CRC Press, 2017), pp. 1492-1498. Link
  • A. Anders,
    Tutorial: Reactive High Power Impulse Magnetron Sputtering (R-HiPIMS),
    J. Appl. Phys. 121, 171101 (2017). DOI:10.1063/1.4978350
  • M. Panjan, A. Anders,
    Plasma potential of a moving ionization zone in DC magnetron sputtering,
    J. Appl. Phys. 121, 063302 (2017). DOI:10.1063/1.4974944
  • A. Anders, Y. Yang,
    Direct observation of spoke evolution in magnetron sputtering,
    Appl. Phys. Lett. 111, 064103 (2017). DOI:10.1063/1.4994192
  • T. Rembert, C. Battaglia, A. Anders, A. Javey,
    Room temperature oxide deposition approach to fully transparent, all-oxide thin-film transistors,
    Advanced Materials 27, 6090 (2015). DOI:10.1002/adma.201502159 or


  • Fellow of the American Vacuum Society (AVS), 2011
  • Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), 2008
  • Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), 2000
  • Fellow of the Institute of Physics (IoP), 1998


  • Nathaniel Sugerman Memorial Award, Society of Vacuum Coaters, 2016
  • Walter P. Dyke Award, Int. Symp. Discharges and Electrical Insulation, 2014
  • Mentor Award of the Society of Vacuum Coaters,2011
  • Merit Award of IEEE, Nuclear and Plasma Science Societies, 2010
  • R&D 100 Award for a Pulsed Filtered Arc Deposition System, 2009
  • R&D 100 Award for the Development of the Constricted Plasma Source, 1997
  • Paul A. Chatterton Young Investigator Award (ISDEIV-IEEE), 1994