Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees advises the IOM on all questions essential for its development and decides on all fundamental matters of the association. It also determines the guidelines for the activities of the association. The Board of Trustees consists of representatives of the Land and the Federation as well as representatives and experts elected by the General Assembly.


Free State of Saxony

represented by the Ministry of
State of Science and Art
represented by
RD’in Cathrin Liebner (Chairwoman)

Federal Republic of Germany

represented by the Federal Ministry of
Education and Research
represented by
MinR Dr.-Ing. Joachim P. Kloock

Association of the Institute

represented by
Dr. Karsten Otte

Independent Scientist

Prof. Jochen M. Schneider, PhD RWTH Aachen University
(effective from 01.11.2018)

Assembly of members

The meeting of members decides on amendments to the statutes and elects a representative from among the members and an expert to the board of trustees or appoints the expert auditor. The members' meeting is composed of representatives of the Free State of Saxony and the Federal Republic of Germany as well as natural persons and legal entities. The members' meeting takes place once a year.


  • RD'in Cathrin Liebner (SMWK)
  • MinR Dr.-Ing. Joachim P. Kloock (BMBF)
  • Prof. Dr. Erich Schröger (Universität Leipzig)
  • Sebastian Meyer-Plath (Bruker Daltonik GmbH)
  • Thomas Franz (NTG-mbH & Co. KG)
  • Prof. Dr. Rüdiger Szargan
  • Prof. Dr. Marius Grundmann
  • Dr. Karsten Otte
  • Prof. Dr. Roger Gläser
  • Prof. Dr. Reiner Mehnert

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the Board of Trustees and the Executive Board on all scientific and structural issues of the Institute. It is independent in its consulting activities and develops proposals and recommendations for the research fields to be worked on by the association and for its work planning.


  • Prof. Dr. Christina Trautmann (chairwoman)
    Gesellschaft für Schwerionenforschung Darmstadt

  • Prof. Dr. Karl-Michael Weitzel (deputy chair)
    Philipps-Universität Marburg

  • Prof. Dr. Katharina AI-Shamery
    Universität Oldenburg

  • Prof. Dr. Horst Hahn
    Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
  • PD Dr. Bernd Herzog
    BASF Grenzach GmbH, Grenzach-Wyhlen

  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Gerd Löhmannsröben
    Universität Potsdam

  • Tino Petsch
    3D-Micromac, Chemnitz

  • Dr. Helmut Rudigier
    Chief Technology Officer (CTO) (Oerlikon)

  • Prof. Dr. Andrea A. Robitzki
    Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

  • Prof. Dr. A. von Keudell
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum

The IOM gratefully acknowledges the contributions of the former Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h. c. Ralf Eckhardt Beyer
    Fraunhofer-Institut für Werkstoff- und Strahlentechnik und
    Technische Universität Dresden
  • Prof. Dr. Roger Gläser (chairman)
    Universität Leipzig
  • Dr. Klaus-Friedrich Beckstette
    Carl Zeiss, Oberkochen
  • Dr. Kurt Dietliker
    BASF Schweiz AG, Basel
  • Prof. Dr. Marius Grundmann
    Universität Leipzig